Metropolis Records

search menu


Listen & Buy

Spawned in Paris, France on February 29, 1984, Kein Mehrheit Fr Die Mitleid (which loosely translates into no pity for the majority) was initially an industrial-audio concept accompanying art-installations by Erste Hilfe, a group of painters and sculptors, enfant terrible of the mid-80s German underground art-scene.

In the following years, KMFDM began to pioneer the crossover between techno/dance and heavy metal with their signature sound.

Relocating to Chicago in 1990, KMFDM was the pride of Wax Trax Records during the labels peak.

Under the leadership of German-born music founder Sascha K. a/k/a Kptn K, the only permanent member throughout the bands history, KMFDM is still going strong after almost three decades of conceptual continuity, regularly recording and releasing albums and frequently touring the world over.

Despite the fact that KMFDM consumed the majority of his time and efforts over the years, Kptn K still got involved in several side-projects (MDFMK, Excessive Force, Schwein, KGC, OKZTEIN*OK) and made a name for himself as a music producer as well as a remixer (Metallica, White Zombie, Front 242 and many more).

Between 1990 and 2007, KMFDMs headquarters shifted between Chicago, New York and Seattle, since 2008 KMFDM operates out of Hamburg, Germany, again.

To quote themselves, The future belongs to those of us still willing to get our hands dirty. Living by their D.I.Y. philosophy, KMFDM not only started their own music-publishing entity KMFDM Ent. US (BMI) but was also one of the first bands to ever launch an online merchandise-store, (KMFDM Store) and finally consequently, their own record label, (KMFDM Records).

Though once feared dead after the release of the album ADIOS in 1999, KMFDM re-emerged quickly, harder, faster, and better than ever. After the permanent departure of most of the former collaborators due to internal strife and irreconcilable differences it was time for tabula rasa, a clearing of the deck.

New York native Lucia Cifarelli, previously the singer of the band Drill, made her first appearance in the KMFDM-camp during the project MDFMK, later she joined the re-formed KMFDM as front-woman and female lead-singer. As a powerful vocalist and expressionistic songwriter she has redefined KMFDM, as female vocals are no longer relegated to the background. The Metropolis Records debut ATTAK , recorded in 2001, showed that this newly reinvigorated KMFDM could not be stopped.

Since 2002 the lineup has been rounded out with the impressive talents of Andy Selway (the YoYo's Pig, Schwein, The Dwarves, Spittin' Cobras) on drums and guitarists Jules Hodgson (Lodestar , Pig, Schwein, Spittin' Cobras) & Steve White (Pig, 16 Volt, Deathbed Repentance). What these boys, lovingly known as the pigs, brought to the table was made unmistakably clear on the new line-ups first album WWIII, a brutal thrashing and a sound that once again re-defined KMFDM for years to come.

By 2004, celebrating its 20th year, KMFDM was producing new material and touring at a frenetic pace. Europe, Russia, Canada US & Australia were visited. 2005 saw the release of the album Hau Ruck, again bolstered by a massive amount of live-performances all across the globe. A companion remix EP entitled Ruck Zuck followed in 2006 and to go with them, the Hau Ruck Zuck USSA Tour. 2007 brought Tohuvabohu, featuring a grand mixture of the bands many styles. In 2008 the band, meanwhile relocated to Hamburg, released its first full-blown remix album ever, Brimborium.

Celebrating their 24th Anniversary on February 29th 2008, KMFDM announced KMFDM 24/7, a series of twenty-four seven inch vinyl singles featuring tracks from the band's original 12" singles and classic album cuts. KMFDM Records released the singles on the first of every month in the order they were originally released for 24 months culminating on Feb 01, 2010 with the brand new exclusive single Day Of Light. Each of the 24 singles was available in a Limited Edition First and Only Pressing of 250 copies, remastered specifically for vinyl and featuring the original classic KMFDM artwork, most by famed KMFDM cohort Brute!.

KMFDM remain a musical entity to be reckoned with. Through relentless musical exploration and reinvention they have continued to top themselves. 2009s album, Blitz, was no exception. KMFDM also released - SKOLD vs. KMFDM, a 22 track album by Tim Skold and Sascha Konietzko. The juggernauts of the alt-underground came together again to tear it apart. SKOLD vs. KMFDM was available exclusively through the KMFDM Store in fan-friendly CD, audiophile Vinyl and high quality MP3 formats.

After an extensive 25th anniversary world tour, the band brought in 2010 with a bang, releasing Krieg, 12 tracks of new, diverse and exciting remixes of tracks from Blitz reworked by top names across the musical spectrum. Then the Fr Die Mehrheit Tour played festivals and headlining shows in Europe over the Summer, hitting ten countries along the way, as well as releasing the Limited Edition Godlike 2010 CD, a special celebration of the 20th Anniversary of their classic song "Godlike", available exclusively on KMFDM Records through the KMFDM Store. Godlike 2010 compliments the release of two collections of KMFDM's best-known tracks - Wrst, a "wrst of" collection, along with a Limited Edition Double Disc version titled Greatest Shit.

To kick off 2011, KMFDM released their first new single and video in 9 years, Krank in March with great chart success in the US and Germany. This was followed by their new album, WTF?! And again, relentless touring in both the US and Europe.

In addition to their new material KMFDM have re-released their entire back catalog from the band's WaxTrax! Records era as well as Extra, a three-volume set of double-disc collections of tracks not included on the ten KMFDM Classic albums. It features remastered tracks from the band's 12" singles and CD singles, all of which had been out of print for many years.

As can plainly be seen, the self-proclaimed fathers of industrial-rock show no signs of stopping. February 26, 2013 sees the release of the brand-spanking new album KUNST and a 22-date tour of the US commences on March 8. Throughout the remainder of this year, the band will be touring extensively, kicking it off in April with several dates in Europe and the UK.